Book Review: Cheating Death by Dr. Sanjay Gupta

cheatingdeath

You will be surprised where I found this book!! While on my trip to the store to organize my daughters birthday party, I zipped by the dollar store to pick some gift bags.  There in the bottom isle, I saw this book.  Dr.  Sanjay Gupta with his star appearances in CNN is a household name.  So for a dollar for this hardbound book, how bad could it be!! So I picked it up without a second thought.

Amazing find is one world I can summarize this book.  I have always been fascinated with the medical field.  The integration of engineering with medicine – the biomedical engineering has always perplexed me with the translation of numbers or data from my body to a meaning to the doctors.  Another article on that will do justice.

Now getting back to the book – Sanjay Gupta discusses advances in medical field where death has no longer a meaning.  Being a avid believer of the big bang theory myself, it makes so much sense.  He talks about advances in medicine especially neurology that allows bodies to frozen to sub zero temperature to save the human body.  The book talks about the findings along its way.  The first mistakes they made and subsequent findings.  All of this in simple language.  No medical words that throw you off.  He makes you walk a doctor’s life, their debugging methodology and their subsequent conclusions.

A very good non-fiction book.  A must read!

Leave a Reply

